Centre for Counter Fraud Studies

Counter Fraud Professional Accreditation Board

Counter Fraud Professional Accreditation Board

The Counter Fraud Professional Accreditation Board (CFPAB) was created in 2001 from the merger of the National Counter Fraud Accreditation Board and the NHS National Professional Accreditation Board.

The CFPAB members include:

  • Department for Work and Pensions
  • Local Authorities in Britain
  • NHS Protect
  • HM Revenue and Customs
  • Her Majesty's Passport Office (HM Passport Office)
  • City of London Police
  • University of Portsmouth

The CFPAB seeks to undertake the following role across the United Kingdom:

  • To establish and maintain professional standards in the delivery of a portfolio of professional training courses in the field of counter fraud work, encompassing a 'Foundation Level' syllabus and qualification
  • To formally recognise the successful completion of a portfolio of professional training courses in the field of counter fraud work encompassing a 'Foundation Level' syllabus and qualification
  • To oversee the delivery of the training courses taking into account the quality and effectiveness of the courses
  • To ensure that individual courses, and the portfolio of courses as a whole, are conducted so that Higher Education credits can be awarded, and that in particular a recommended credit rating is communicated to the Higher Education Institutions
  • To establish and maintain professional standards in the delivery of an 'Advanced Level' counter fraud qualification based on an agreed common syllabus, to be delivered by higher education institutions and resulting in an Award at Certificate of Higher Education level
  • To formally recognise the successful completion of the 'Advanced Level' counter fraud qualification with the award of Certified Counter Fraud Specialist (CCFS) status and Graduate Counter Fraud Specialist (GCFS) status
  • To actively promote professional training for counter fraud specialists and to work with organisations with a common interest in the development of professional training and access to relevant programmes of Higher Education


In 2016 the CFPAB decided to begin to align its awards with HM Government’s professional standards for counter fraud. In November 2016 the CFPAB implemented these changes for the Accredited Counter Fraud Technician and Accredited Counter Fraud Specialist linking them to the investigation standard creating the following awards and structure:

  • Accredited Counter Fraud Technician - ACFTech (Developing)
  • Accredited Counter Fraud Specialist -ACFS (Foundation)
  • Accredited Counter Fraud Specialist – ACFS (Proficient)
  • Accredited Counter Fraud Specialist - (Expert)

The CFPAB is in the process of adapting some of the other awards to the HM Government standards, such as intelligence and management. Until these have been agreed the following existing CFPAB awards continue: 

  • Accredited Counter Fraud Intelligence Technician
  • Accredited Counter Fraud Intelligence Specialist
  • Accredited Counter Fraud Manager
  • Accredited Counter Fraud Trainer
  • Accredited Counter Fraud and Counter Corruption Specialist (International)
  • Certified Counter Fraud Specialist - CCFS
  • Graduate Counter Fraud Specialist - GCFS

As of January 2017 the CFPAB had made over 15,000 awards.

What is the value of the CFPAB awards?

A frequent question is: what are the CFPAB awards worth? The CFPAB has set minimum credits for each of the following awards, but some training providers exceed these standards:

  • ACFS (Foundation) at least 40 Level 4 credits at a Higher Education Institution.
  • ACFTech (Developing) at least 10 Level 4 credits at a Higher Education Institution.

Please note Level 4 is the equivalent of the first year of an undergraduate degree, an NVQ Level 4 or a BTEC Level 4. In an undergraduate degree there are 120 credits in a level, so 40 credits is the equivalent of one third of the year. Some ACFS courses which are accredited by Higher Education Institutions are worth more than 40 credits. The CFPAB requirement is for at least 40 credits. For further information on the National Qualifications framework click here.

So when the question is asked how does the ACFS compare to an NVQ Level 4 in Investigation, the answer is that they are both the same level on the National Qualifications Framework.

CCFS is 120 Level 4 credits and is achieved by the completion of a recognised Certificate of Higher Education at a Higher Education Institution. An ACFS award must form part of this course.

GCFS is achieved by a recognised BSc (Hons) degree or Masters degree, but the candidate must hold an ACFS award.

How do I secure a CFPAB award?

The following companies/organisations offer individuals the opportunity to register on courses which have been approved by the CFPAB.

CompanyContact details

Contact Name: Les Dobie
020 7543 5600

City of London Police (ACFS, ACFTech, ACFS International Programme)

Contact Name: Economic Crime Academy
020 7601 6846

Digilog Ltd (ACFTech)
Contact name: Andy McGeown
07958 662021
Focus Training (UK) Ltd (ACFS)
08709 194745
Contact name: Susan Gordon
NHS Protect (ACFS, ACFM)
Then click on counter fraud training.
02476 245500
Performant Training (ACFS, ACFTech)
Contact Name: Leo Reynolds 020 8133 7322
PDA (Peter Darby Associates) (ACFS, ACFTech)
Contact: Peter Darby 07714 216126
QuestGates Ltd, Birmingham (ACFS, ACFTech)
Contact: John Freeman 07860 895156
RNA Training Company Ltd (ACFS)
(also trading as Robert Naylor Associates) 
020 7608 5124 - ask for Robert Naylor or Nick Osborn
Robertson & Co (ACFS, ACFTech)

Contact name: Sean Littlejohn 01277 508506

Some of the Government department members of the board also have approved training, but do not generally offer it on a commercial basis such as DWP/Jobcentre Plus and HM Revenue and Customs. Those wishing to make contact with these bodies should do so via the Secretariat.

This list is collated alphabetically and has no order of preference.


Forms for Training Providers 

Forms for Applicants for Proficient and Expert Level Awards

Continuing Professional Development and the Professional Register

The CFPAB has created a new system of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) for award holders. If you have undertaken the appropriate level of CPD and hold an appropriate qualification you will be eligible to apply to go on to the Professional Register of Counter Fraud Specialists. Read more.

Course approval procedures

Counter Fraud Core Subject Matrices 

More information

For more information on the work of the CFPAB please contact

Karen Nixon
Counter Fraud Professional Accreditation Board
University of Portsmouth
Portsmouth PO1 2HY
Telephone: +44 (0)23 9284 5219
Fax: +44 (0)23 9284 3918
Email: karen.nixon@port.ac.uk

Counter fraud staff who possess a professional award can register to receive more information on the work of the CFPAB. Complete the form below and return it to the above address.

Please advise the Secretariat of any change in your personal details, by emailing ccfs@port.ac.uk, to ensure records are kept up to date.