Academic Departments

The University of Portsmouth has 29 academic departments, each offering a wide range of courses.

Academic departments are distributed across the 5 faculties that provide a support structure that enables each department to meet their objectives and serve their students effectively.

Select a department:

  • Accounting and Finance, Department of
  • Art, Design and Media, School of (ADEM)
  • Biological Sciences, School of
  • Civil Engineering and Surveying, School of (SCES)
  • Computing, School of
  • Creative Arts, Film and Media, School of (SCAFM)
  • Creative Technologies, School of (CT)
  • Dental Academy (moved to new cms)
  • Earth and Environmental Sciences, School of (SEES)
  • Economics, Department of
  • Education and Continuing Studies, School of (SECS)
  • Engineering, School of (ENG)
  • Geography, Department of
  • Health Sciences and Social Work, School of
  • Human Resource and Marketing Management, Department of (HRMM)
  • Institute of Cosmology and Gravitation (moved to new cms)
  • Institute of Criminal Justice Studies (moved to new cms) (ICJS)
  • Languages and Area Studies, School of (SLAS)
  • Law, School of
  • Learning at Work (moved to new cms)
  • Mathematics (moved to new cms)
  • Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, School of
  • Portsmouth Centre for Enterprise (PCE)
  • Portsmouth School of Architecture (ARCH)
  • Psychology, Department of
  • Social, Historical and Literary Studies, School of
  • Sport and Exercise Science, Department of
  • Strategy and Business Systems, Department of