Human Resources

Health and Safety Team

Our Health and Safety Team provide advice and guidance relating to all Health and Safety matters within the University. The team members are listed below, along with the main contact details.

You can find out more information, help & guidance on the H&S webpages.

Team memberContact details   

David Wright

Health and Safety Manager

Lynda Martin

Deputy Health and Safety Manager

Joanne Barringer

Health and Safety Adviser

Laura Sayers 

Health and Safety Adviser (Fire Safety)

Charlotte Downs

Audit and Compliance Administrator

Lee Murphy


Specialist Advisors


Christina Scott

Biological Safety Officer

David Wright

Laser Safety Officer

Dr Simon Kolstoe

Chair of the Genetic Modification Safety Committee


Professor James Smith

Radiation Protection Officer,

School of Earth & Environmental Sciences


University of Portsmouth
Health and Safety Office
Ground Floor, Unit 3, St Andrew's Court
St Michael's Road

t: 023 9284 3075