Human Resources

Health and Safety

Radiation Protection Unit

The Radiation Protection Unit is responsible for ensuring that university staff, members of the public, and the environment are protected from the low level radiation produced in certain research equipment and experimental studies.


  • Professor Jim Smith: University Radiation Protection Officer, Burnaby Building, Room 2.12, Ext. 2416 | Radiation Protection Supervisor for the School of Engineering, Angelsea Building.
  • Dr Simon Streeter: Deputy Radiation Protection Officer and Radiation Protection Supervisor, School of Biological Sciences, St Michaels Building, Ext. 2057
  • Ms Shelley Blane: Radiation Protection Supervisor for the Centre of Radiography Education, St Michaels Building, Ext. 5355
  • Mr Simon Rushby: Radiation Protection Supervisor for the School of Professionals Complimentary to Dentistry, William Beatty Building, Ext. 5282

Contact any of these people if you need help or guidance in relation to ionising radiation.

No new work with ionising radiation may be performed without prior authorisation from the local Radiation Protection Supervisor and the University Radiation Protection Officer.

The "Best Available Techniques" document below explains the management structure of radiation protection in the University and describes how we are working to minimise the environmental impact of our activities.

Best Available Techniques for Accumulation and Disposal of Radioactive Waste [Acrobat (.pdf) - Thu, 28 Jul 2016 15:26:00 BST]