Institute of Criminal Justice Studies


Head of Department

Dr Paul Norman Principal Lecturer and Head of Department
Dr Nathan Hall Principal Lecturer and Associate Head (Quality Assurance & Quality Engagement)
Professor Francis Pakes Professor in Criminology, Associate Head (Research)
Dr Nicholas Pamment Principal Lecturer and Associate Head (Students)

Academic Staff

Dr Stephanie Bennett Learning Development Tutor (Research Skills) - (on maternity leave)
Mr Dean Blackbourn Senior Lecturer and Course Leader – BSc (Hons) Counter Fraud and Criminal Justice Studies (DL)
Mr Neville Blackwood Visiting Fellow
Dr Katherine Brown Senior Lecturer, and Course Leader – BSc (Hons) Criminology and Forensic Studies
Professor Mark Button Director of the Centre for Counter Fraud Studies
Dr Brian Chappell Senior Lecturer
Dr Sarah Charman Reader in Criminology & Distance Learning Undergraduate Programme Area Leader
Dr Phil Clements Principal Lecturer in Police Studies
Dr Craig Collie Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Ms Claudia Cox Teaching Fellow
Dr Helen Earwaker Lecturer
Mrs Kerry Ellis Devitt Senior Lecturer
Mr Tom Ellis Principal Lecturer
Dr John Fox Senior Lecturer, and Course Leader – BSc (Hons) Policing & Investigation (DL)
Mrs Leah Fox Teaching Fellow in Criminology and Criminal Justice, and Study Abroad Coordinator
Ms Rachel Goldhill Senior Lecturer
Dr Dennis Gough Senior Lecturer, and Director of Community Justice Learning
Mr John Grieve Senior Research Fellow
Ms Sophie Hanspal Learning Development Tutor (Research Skills) - (maternity cover)
Mr Nick Hawkins Visiting Professor
Professor Carol Hayden Professor in Applied Social Research
Ms Marika Henneberg Senior Lecturer, Criminal Justice Clinic
Dr Branislav Hock Lecturer in Counter Fraud Studies
Mr Marc Jacobs Senior Lecturer, and Course Leader – BSc (Hons) Crime and Criminology (DL)
Dr Richard Kapend Lecturer in Criminology & Quantitative Research Methods
Dr Vasileios Karagiannopoulos Senior Lecturer, and Course Leader – BSc (Hons) Criminology and Cybercrime
Dr Annie Kirby Research Associate, Cybercrime Clinic
Mr Barry Loveday Reader in Criminal Justice Administration
Professor Becky Milne Professor of Forensic Psychology
Professor Mike Nash Emeritus Professor of Criminology
Ms Anna-Marie O'Connor Senior Lecturer and Forensic Co-Ordinator
Ms Madeline Petrillo Senior Lecturer, and Course Leader – DipHE Community Justice
Mr David Pritchard Senior Lecturer in Criminology and Social Policy, and Course Leader BSc Criminology & Criminal Justice (maternity cover)
Dr Aaron Pycroft Reader in Criminal Justice and Social Complexity and Course Leader – DipHE in Community Justice
Ms Anne Rees Senior Lecturer in Community Justice
Mrs Claire Rhodes Principal Lecturer, and Programme Area Leader undergraduate campus
Dr Moufida Sadok Lecturer in Cyber-crime and Cyber-security
Professor Stephen Savage Professor of Criminology, and Lead on Police Degree Apprenticeships
Mr Gordon Scruton Learning Development Tutor
Dr Karen Shalev Greene Senior Lecturer, Director of the Centre for the Study of Missing Persons
Dr Andrea Shawyer Senior Lecturer
Dr David Shepherd Senior Research Associate
Ms April Smith Senior Lecturer in Criminology with Psychology - Course Leader BSc Criminology with Psychology
Dr Geoffrey Smith Senior Lecturer
Dr Paul Smith Principal Lecturer, and ICJS Lead on Innovation
Mrs Sandra Sparrius Senior Lecturer and ICJS eLearning Coordinator
Dr Lisa Sugiura Senior Lecturer, and Course Leader – Postgraduate Flexible Framework (DL)
Dr Risto Talas Lecturer in Security Risk Management
Dr Jacki Tapley Principal Lecturer in Criminology
Mrs Megan Thomas Senior Teaching Fellow
Ms Jemma Tyson Course Leader – Postgraduate Flexible Framework
Dr Fiona Wadie Senior Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice - (on maternity leave)
Dr Alison Wakefield Senior Lecturer in Security Risk Management
Dr Victoria Wang Senior Lecturer in Security and Cybercrime
Ms Jenny Weaver Senior Teaching Fellow
Dr Andy Williams Principal Lecturer and PGRS Programme Area Leader
Dr Jane Winstone Principal Lecturer

Professional Staff

Ms Mia Armitage Forensic Student Placement
Mrs Samantha Butcher Senior Course Administrator
Mrs Toni Cook Course Administrator
Mr Stuart Davis Registry Officer
Miss Kellie Diggins Secretary to Head of Department
Miss Jo Fairwood Course Administrator
Mrs Valerie Goldstone Senior Course Administrator
Miss Emma Griffiths Course Administrator
Mrs Maria Hare Project Administrator
Ms Rebecca Jackson Senior Course Administrator
Mrs Caroline Kerr Institute Manager
Mrs Karen Martin Senior Course Administrator
Mrs Brenda Newman Quality Assurance and Curriculum Administrator
Mrs Linda Paternoster Course Administrator
Mrs Yvonne Pitts Course Administrator
Mrs Diane Purrington Senior Registry Officer
Miss Vicky Purrington Course Administrator
Ms Jac Reed Senior Specialist Forensic Technician
Ms Heather Sherwood Senior Course Administrator
Mr Amar Tailor Research Administrator
Mrs Ann Treagus Course Administrator
Ms Aliesha Tyler Forensic Technician