Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence for the Study of a Transnational Europe

About the Centre

The University of Portsmouth was awarded a Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence in August 2013. Our chosen title Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence for the Study of a Transnational Europe reflects prior research success within the field of European and Area Studies, particularly on transnational dimensions of contemporary Europe. In this field the University of Portsmouth with its Centre of European and International Studies Research was recognized in the 2008 British Research Assessment to have the greatest “research power” of all British universities. The award of Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence further corroborates the international quality and standing of CEISR’s research.

CESTE as an integral part of CEISR operates within the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. Its director is Jean Monnet Professor, ad personam, Michael Mannin.


For general information about the EU’s Jean Monnet programme see here.

In CESTE, our specific objectives are:

To stimulate excellence in teaching, research and reflection in European Integration Studies, within and outside the University.

The European transnational focus facilitates partnership with fellow researchers within and outside of the EU. Our partners are established universities with recognised expertise in EU studies which have indicated a strong desire to develop expertise in the area. All have established regional networks that are beneficial for the dissemination of the project’s output. The project builds on successful research and teaching activities in Portsmouth and partner outreach programmes.

To enhance knowledge and awareness

Utilising existing European partnerships, CESTE will extend and deepen research and teaching in the field of EU transnational awareness studies to university audiences including the eastern neighbourhood, and so address the complexity of understanding European integration within a cross-cultural and dynamic arena. Enhancing knowledge and awareness of EU issues is the objective of the multi-faceted CESTE portal.

To exploit multi-disciplinary resources

CESTE will draw on a strong, multidisciplinary core of active researchers in CEISR and its Transnational Europe cluster from backgrounds such as European Studies, history, and political science and public policy. The European-transnational theme and associated projects require interdisciplinary and transnational perspectives that are reinforced by civil society partners involved in the projects.

To achieve an openness to civil society

Openness to civil society is inherent in CESTE's transnational focus involving academic, practitioner and civil society partners. This is reinforced by the involvement of the local civil society partner Southern England Local Partners (SELP) and their integral role in several events/research activities. We will facilitate wider access by the creation of a promotional CESTE website, online access to EI studies materials and programmes, and interactions with related websites.


Executive Board

CESTE is managed by an Executive Board consisting of 6 academics (all of whom are also members of CEISR’s Transnational Europe cluster) and 1 administrative member, all of whom are involved in the Centre’s designated activities. These members are: Dr Paul Flenley; Dr Carine Germond; Jean Monnet Professor Dr Karen Heard-Lauréote; Mr Jo Stark (Faculty Business Development Manager); Professor Dr Wolfram Kaiser; Jean Monnet Professor (ad personam) Mike Mannin (Centre Director); Dr Nora Siklodi; and Dr Anna Syngellakis. 

Advisory Board

CESTE also has an Advisory Board of experts who contribute to the direction of the project and enhance its accountability. These 5 members are: Dr Irina Kuznetsova, Director, International Centre for European studies (VOICES), Kazan; John Fitzgibbon, Head of Bureau, Southern England Local Partners, Brussels; Prof John Vogler, Professorial Research Fellow in International Relations, Keele University; Prof.Dr. Tanja Börzel, Director, Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence, Free University, Berlin; Duncan Redford, Naval Museum, Portsmouth; Professor Sophie Vanhoonacker, JM Chair and Chair of Administrative Sciences, University of Maastricht.