Postgraduate research

SCDTP social sciences funding

Fund your Social Sciences PhD through the ESRC SCDTP

logo

Applications for the 2018 round of ESRC SCDTP studentships are now closed. For further information on the ESRC South Coast Doctoral Training Partnership (SCDTP) please see their website. 

We will be advertising the next round of studentships available on our webpages toward the end of this year for 2019/20 entry.

If you would like for us to contact you when applications open, please send an email to: graduate.school@port.ac.uk

Please see below information on how the process is carried out should you wish to apply when applications open in the autumn (2018).

The studentships are for social science research in Psychology and Area Studies subjects only.

As well as covering all tuition fees, the studentship also includes an annual maintenance grant, of £14,553 (2017/18 rate).

The SCDTP is a collaboration between the universities of Portsmouth, Southampton and Brighton. There are 36 studentships available each year for social science students carrying out PhD studies (+3) or Master’s and PhD studies (1+3) at these three universities. 

The studentships are funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and available to UK students.

ESRC SCDTP logo

How the application process works

A University supervisor needs to support any SCDTP application. Therefore, candidates are required to contact them prior to official application.

During 2017/18, 9 specific projects available across Psychology and Area Studies subjects. Details of each project and supervisory lead are listed below.

You aer also welcome to submit your own research project proposal. Please see the expertise and contact information in each research area to discuss this further. 

The university also welcomed applicants own research project proposal. Please see the research centre contacts for specific research areas, expertise and contact information.

Applicants also had to submit an online application before submitting their SCDTP application.

Eligibility

To be eligible candidates must be considered as a UK resident and hold a good honours degree (2:1 and above), from a UK higher education institution.

Contact details and further information

Psychology projects (currently closed)

The impact of stress on facial expression and social networks in older adults. Supervisory team: Bridget Waller, Jerome Micheletta, Darren Van Laar - contact - bridget.waller@port.ac.uk

Understanding the effects of educational attainment, household and neighbourhood context on the onset and recovery of poor adolescent mental health. Supervisory Team: Darren Van Laar, Liz Twigg, Graham Moon - contact - darren.van.laar@port.ac.uk

Promoting prosocial behaviours in pre-schoolers and young school children: developing new classroom techniques for promoting cooperation and helpfulnessSupervisory Team: Eszter Somogyi, Clare Wilson, Iris Nomikou - contact - eszter.somogyi@port.ac.uk

Whom are these toys for? Investigating the influence of gender-neutral toys advertisement on children attitudes and play behaviours. Supervisory Team: Erik Gustafsson, Tara Woodyer, Stefanie Sonnenberg - contact - erik.gustafsson@port.ac.uk

Drawings as a method for eliciting information and magnifying cues to deceit. Supervisory Team: Aldert Vrij, Zarah Vernham,Galit Nahari - contact - aldert.vrij@port.ac.uk

The above 5 projects do not require a project proposal, however applicants were asked to submit a 500 word personal statement to include: 

  • Details of how your skills and interests match the project
  • Background and previous experience
  • Research interests

Psychology Open Call (currently closed)

Psychology research at the University of Portsmouth consists of three research centres and one research group.

These are: 

To discuss your own research project proposal and find out more about postgraduate programmes in Psychology at the University, contact the lead of the research centres listed above or the Departmental Research Degrees Coordinator (Dr Alessandra Fasulo) - alessandra.fasulo@port.ac.uk)

To then apply for an open call opportunity, after speaking with a potential supervisor, please follow this link:

Area Studies projects (currently closed)

The development of methodologies for mainstreaming a violence against women and girls lens inside evaluations of international social development programmesSupervisory Team: Tamsin Bradley, Leila Choukroune, Kate Conroy - tamsin.bradley@port.ac.uk

Talking about other people’s terror attacksSupervisory Team: Natalya Vince, Mario Saraceni - contact - natalya.vince@port.ac.uk

Trade, Gender and Development: A Comparative Analysis into the impact of trade policies on Women in Selected Special Economic Zones (SEZ) of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and/or the South Asian Nation for Regional Cooperation (SARC)Supervisory Team: Leila Choukroune, Tamsin Bradley, Pal Ahluwalia - contact - leila.choukroune@port.ac.uk

Translating the cultural dimension of Western representations of drone killings in Syria, Somalia and YemenSupervisory Team: Sophia Wood, Peter Lee, Esther Sonnet - contact - sophia.wood@port.ac.uk

The above 4 projects do not required a project proposal, however applicants were asked to submit a 500 word personal statement to include: 

  • Details of how your skills and interests match the project
  • Background and previous experience
  • Research interests

Area Studies Open Call (currently closed)

The University’s Centre for European and International Studies Research (CEISR) brings together world leading research in Area Studies.

There are more than 60 members of CEISR. Their research is organised into eight clusters

To discuss your own research project proposal and find out more about postgraduate programmes in Area Studies at the University, use the contact details above.