School of Media and Performing Arts


Head of School

Jane Chandler Interim Head of School of Media and Performing Arts

Academic Staff

Dr Emma Austin Senior Lecturer (Film and Media)
Dr Trudy Barber Senior Lecturer (Media); Course Leader – BA (Hons) Media and Digital Practice; Admissions Tutor (Media)
Dr George Burrows Reader in Performing Arts; Section Leader – Drama and Musical Theatre; Level 5 Tutor (Drama and Musical Theatre)
John Caro Principal Lecturer (Film and Media); Assistant Head of School; Level 4 Tutor (Film)
Laura Doye Lecturer (Dance)
Dr Laurie Ede Principal Lecturer (Film and Media); Course Leader – Film and Media
Dr Christine Etherington-Wright Senior Lecturer (Film)
Dr Laurel Forster Senior Lecturer (Media); Course Leader – MA Media and Communication
Dr David Garland Senior Lecturer (Media); Level 4 Tutor (Media)
Dr Lincoln Geraghty Reader in Popular Media Cultures; Level 6 Tutor (Film)
Dr Alison Habens Senior Lecturer (Creative Writing); Course Leader, Creative Writing undergraduate courses; Level 6 Tutor (Creative Writing); Admissions (Creative Writing)
Dr Stephen Harper Senior Lecturer
Dr Erika Hughes Senior Lecturer (Drama and Performance)
Colin Jagger Director of Music
Dr Rebecca Janicker Senior Lecturer (Film and Media)
Dr Laura MacDonald Senior Lecturer (Musical Theatre); Admissions (Drama and Musical Theatre
Dr Ben Macpherson Principal Lecturer (Musical Theatre); acting Section Leader, Drama and Musical Theatre; Course Leader (Musical Theatre); Level 4 Tutor (Drama and Musical Theatre)
Dr Garrett Monaghan Senior Lecturer (Media)
Dr Van Norris Senior Lecturer (Film and Media); Level 5 Tutor (Media)
Dr Steven O'Brien Senior Lecturer (Creative Writing); Course Leader, MA Creative Writing; Level 5 Tutor (Creative Writing)
Dylan Pank Teaching Fellow (Film and Media); Level 5 Tutor (Film)
Dr Deborah Shaw Reader in Film Studies; Course Leader, MRes Creative Industries; School Research Degrees Coordinator
Lucy Shuttleworth Senior Lecturer (Creative Writing)
Professor Justin Smith Emeritus Professor of Media Industries; Reader in British Film Culture
Mr Matt Smith Senior Lecturer (Drama)
Dr Graham Spencer Reader in Political Conflict
Tom Sykes Senior Lecturer (Media and Creative Writing)
Dr Nik Wakefield Senior Lecturer in Theatre Production
Dr Sophia Wood Senior Lecturer (Media)

Professional Staff

Thomas Coombs Course Administrator (Level 4)
Paula Heiron Course Administrator (Level 5 and MA Media & Communication)
Imogen Jeffery School Manager
David Ratcliffe Course Administrator (Level 6 and MA Creative Writing)
Jackie Walker School Administrator

Technical Staff

Walid Benkhaled Production Manager
Russ Percy Lead Technician
Gregory Smith Lead Technician