Our Leadership team

We know it takes more than a job title to make a leader. Meet the people who lead our institution every day, and learn more about the work they do.

The University Executive Board (UEB) is made up of our senior leadership team and the Deans from our 5 faculties. They meet every 2 weeks to discuss strategy, policy and resourcing, and are responsible for ensuring the University is being managed effectively.

Professor Graham Galbraith, Vice-Chancellor, University of Portsmouth

Professor Graham Galbraith, Vice-Chancellor

As Vice-Chancellor, Professor Graham Galbraith is our Chief Executive and Chief Academic Officer.

It's our Vice-Chancellor's job to see that we deliver the best student experience, develop internationally-recognised research and engage with business.

Since joining us in 2013, Professor Galbraith has been responsible for leading our Board of Governors and senior management team, and for shaping our strategic direction.

Passionate about the transformative power of higher education, Professor Galbraith's experience, entrepreneurial outlook and track record of academic achievement make him the ideal person to lead the next stage of our development.

Bernie Topham, Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Bernie Topham, Chief Operating Officer, University of Portsmouth
Professor Paul Hayes, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor Paul Hayes, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Education and Student Experience, University of Portsmouth
Professor Bob Nichol, Acting Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
Professor Bob Nichol head shot
Chris Chang, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement and Education Partnerships)
Chris Chang, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Global Engagement , University of Portsmouth
Peter Brook, Executive Director of Human Resources
Peter Brook
Emma Woollard, Executive Director of Finance
Emma Woollard, Director of Finance, University of Portsmouth
Adrian Parry, Executive Director of Corporate Governance
Adrian Parry
Professor Gioia Pescetto, Executive Dean - Faculty of Business and Law
Professor Djamel Ait-Boudaoud, Executive Dean - Faculty of Technology
Professor Trevor Keeble, Executive Dean - Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries
CCI Dean Trevor Keeble
Professor Sherria Hoskins, Executive Dean - Faculty of Science
Professor Matthew Weait, Executive Dean - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Dean Matthew Weait