An Associate Dean from the Faculty of Technology has been recognised at the highest level

19 January 2021

3 min read

An academic has been recognised at the highest level for her commitment and expertise in learning and teaching, by being appointed a Principal Fellow (PFHEA) by Advance HE .

Dr Jenny Walden, Associate Dean (Academic) in the Faculty of Technology was recognised for her work in:

  • Taking forward important early work in the University to bring in Degree Apprenticeships
  • Building upon, sustaining and developing transnational education partnerships and their quality assurance
  • Playing a leading part, at different times and in different senior roles, in managing major change in the institution with major curriculum framework projects 
  • Supporting innovative course design in different faculties
  • Helping to build and lead close knit teams in undertaking the Teaching Excellence Framework pilot at the University, and learning from this to help develop monitoring procedures.

Jenny said: “Colleagues in the University, across the professional and academic community, contribute a great deal to how these and other achievements can come about and be sustained, and I am very appreciative of how such teams support each other. 

“I am also very appreciative of the support given to those who wish to submit for the Principal Fellowship, and the support from a growing network of colleagues. I hope my adding to the numbers is an encouragement to others. I am more than willing to share my experience to help in this.”

There are currently 10 Principal Fellows at the University, including:

  • Valerie Anderson, Professor in Human Resources Development in the Organisation Studies and Human Resource Management Department
  • Ale Armellini, Dean of Digital and Distributed Learning
  • Catherine Caroll-Meehan, Head of the School of Education and Sociology
  • Jane Creaton, Associate Dean (Academic) in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences 
  • Harriet Dunbar-Morris, Dean of Learning and Teaching 
  • Mick Harper, Reader in Innovative Teaching and Learning in the School of Health and Care Professions
  • Sherria Hoskins, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Science and Health
  • Catherine McNamara, Head of the School of Art Design and Performance
  • Lynne Mesher, Associate Dean (Academic) in the Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries and Principal Lecturer in the School of Architecture
  • Jenny Walden, Associate Dean (Academic) in the Faculty of Technology