The Higher Education Research Group was established to bring together higher education researchers across the University of Portsmouth in order to strengthen our capacity to engage in world-leading research that is measurably excellent; distinctly innovative; collaborative in nature; focused on diversity; and has demonstrable impact on higher education policies and practices.

As a central hub for higher education research, the group will highlight the research in which members are already engaged; enable greater internal networking and research collaboration; and pursue external collaborative research partnerships. Higher education researchers in all areas and at all levels of experience are encouraged to participate within the group, allowing research collaborations to be enhanced through the diverse skills, experiences, and expertise among the membership.

Follow us on Twitter: @UoPHERG

Research group lead

Image of Professor Jane Creaton

Professor Jane Creaton

  • Job Title Professor of Higher Education Associate Dean (Academic)
  • Email Address Jane.Creaton@port.ac.uk
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor

Members

Image of Dr Anna Bull

Dr Anna Bull

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address anna.bull@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Mark Field

Dr Mark Field

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Politics and Public Policy; Course Leader for Masters in Public Administration (DL)
  • Email Address Mark.Field@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Joanne Brindley

Dr Joanne Brindley

  • Job Title Academic Professional Apprenticeship Course Leader
  • Email Address joanne.brindley@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Mr Ian Johnson

Mr Ian Johnson

  • Job Title Learning Support Tutor
  • Email Address Ian.Johnson@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Jacqueline Priego Hernandez

Dr Jacqueline Priego Hernandez

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Social Psychology
  • Email Address jacqueline.priego@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Wendy Sims-Schouten

Dr Wendy Sims-Schouten

  • Job Title Reader in Childhood Studies and Director of Postgraduate
  • Email Address Wendy.Sims-Schouten@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Joseph Burridge

Dr Joseph Burridge

  • Job Title Principal Lecturer in Sociology and Director of Undergraduate
  • Email Address Joseph.Burridge@port.ac.uk
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Lee Oakley

Dr Lee Oakley

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address lee.oakley@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Ms Laura Hyman

Ms Laura Hyman

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address Laura.Hyman@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Mr Simon Marsden

Media ready expert

Mr Simon Marsden

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address simon.marsden@port.ac.uk
  • Department Institute of Criminal Justice Studies
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Sukh Hamilton

Dr Sukh Hamilton

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address ecs80050@myport.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Emma Maynard

Dr Emma Maynard

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address emma.maynard@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Alex Bradley

Dr Alex Bradley

  • Job Title Teaching Fellow
  • Email Address Alexander.Bradley@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor

This site uses cookies. Click here to view our cookie policy message.

Accept and close