European flags

This research group explores the history, societies, cultures, politics and languages of different regions of the world, with a particular emphasis on decolonial perspectives. It focuses particularly on centring the experiences, voices and ways of understanding the world of people and groups who are marginalised by the dominant power relations in a given place at a given time. It is interested in the complexities of how different political systems, societies and cultures function and promotes inter- and intra-area comparative study.

A second focus of this group is the exploration of global power relations, including relations between states, legal structures, borders, interactions between the local and the global, the changing centres and structures of knowledge production itself and its traditional Eurocentric ontology and epistemology. It purposefully seeks to break down traditional ‘silos’ between the humanities and social sciences by ‘blurring’ genres and promoting methodological innovation. The work of the group is interdisciplinary in nature and has a particular emphasis on the co-creation of knowledge and innovation

Research Group Leads

Brigitte Leucht Portrait

Dr Brigitte Leucht

Reader in International History and Politics

Faculty Ethics Committee Chair

Brigitte.Leucht@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Mario Saraceni Portrait

Dr Mario Saraceni

Associate Professor in English Language and Linguistics

Mario.Saraceni@port.ac.uk

School of Education, Languages and Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more

Members

Joseph David Burridge Portrait

Dr Joseph Burridge

Principal Lecturer

Joseph.Burridge@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Anthony Douglas Chafer Portrait

Professor Tony Chafer

Tony.Chafer@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Angela Maria Crack Portrait

Dr Angela Crack

Interim Associate Dean (Research)

Associate Professor in Civil Society

Angela.Crack@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Nicola Fairchild Portrait

Dr Nikki Fairchild

Associate Professor in Creative Methodologies and Education

UoA Coordinator (Education)

Nikki.Fairchild@port.ac.uk

School of Education, Languages and Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Benjamin James Garner Portrait

Dr Ben Garner

Senior Lecturer

ben.garner@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Ms Patricia Gilbert

Lecturer

patricia.gilbert@port.ac.uk

Read more
Sukhbinder Hamilton Portrait

Dr Sukh Hamilton

Senior Lecturer

Sukh.Hamilton@port.ac.uk

School of Education, Languages and Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Naheem Jabbar

Senior Lecturer

naheem.jabbar@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Wolfram Kaiser Portrait

Media ready expert

Professor Wolfram Kaiser

Professor of European Studies

Wolfram.Kaiser@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Marius Stuart Kwint Portrait

Dr Marius Kwint

Reader in Visual Culture

Marius.Kwint@port.ac.uk

School of Art, Design, and Performance

Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Melita Elizabeth Lazell Portrait

Media ready expert

Dr Melita Lazell

Associate Head (Research)

melita.lazell@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Charlotte Ann Morris Portrait

Dr Charlotte Morris

Senior Lecturer

Charlotte.Morris@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Jacqueline Priego Hernandez Portrait

Dr Jacqueline Priego Hernandez

Interim Associate Dean (Global Engagement)

jacqueline.priego@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Mario Saraceni Portrait

Dr Mario Saraceni

Associate Professor in English Language and Linguistics

Mario.Saraceni@port.ac.uk

School of Education, Languages and Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Barry Edward Smart Portrait

Professor Barry Smart

Professor of Sociology

Barry.Smart@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Simon Alexander Stewart Portrait

Professor Simon Stewart

Professor of Sociology

Simon.Stewart@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, Sociology, History, Politics, and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Thomas Gerald Charlesworth Sykes Portrait

Dr Tom Sykes

Associate Professor in Creative Writing and Global Journalism

Tom.Sykes@port.ac.uk

School of Film, Media, and Communication

Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Annabel Claire Tremlett Portrait

Dr Annabel Tremlett

Senior Lecturer

Annabel.Tremlett@port.ac.uk

School of Health and Care Professions

Faculty of Science and Health

PhD Supervisor

Read more

Dr Catherine Murgatroyd

Principal Lecturer in Equallity, Diversity and Inclusion

Department for Curriculum and Quality Enhancement

catherine.murgatroyd@port.ac.uk

PhD Candidates

Isabelle Cheng

Taha Daoud