The Citizenship, ‘Race’ and Belonging (CRaB) Research Network is an interdisciplinary group of scholars interested in issues around citizenship, ‘race’ and belonging in the widest sense. We are interested in both historical and current questions about who is considered to belong within the nation-state, why, and how those who have been deemed ‘outsiders’ have been perceived and treated.

The core collective goals enhance current research on citizenship, 'race' and belonging as follows:

Empirically

to research the lived experiences of citizenship, ‘race’ and belonging, drawing on interdisciplinary methodologies from sociology, history, cultural studies, international development and political science.

Theoretically

to understand the dynamics that different theoretical strands can bring to understanding citizenship, ‘race’ and belonging, and to build an interdisciplinary network at the University of Portsmouth that also reaches out to international partners.

Practically

to support each other in future publishing and external funding endeavours through peer review, discussion and advice on journal/book proposal submissions and funding bids; and to look at how academic research can create meaningful change in policy and practice interest areas such as social inclusion and integration, tackling racism, and notions of belonging and well-being.

Our members

Jodi Jeannette Burkett Portrait

Dr Jodi Burkett

Senior Lecturer

Jodi.Burkett@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Nian-Tzu Cockel Portrait

Dr Isabelle Cockel

Senior Lecturer

isabelle.cheng@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, History, Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Read more
James William Dennis Portrait

Dr James Dennis

Senior Lecturer

james.dennis@port.ac.uk

School of Film Media and Communication

Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Benjamin James Garner Portrait

Dr Ben Garner

Senior Lecturer

ben.garner@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Naheem Jabbar

Senior Lecturer

naheem.jabbar@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Charles Leddy-Owen

Senior Lecturer

charles.leddy-owen@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Francesca Salvi Portrait

Dr Francesca Salvi

Senior Lecturer

Francesca.Salvi@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Susana Maria Silva Sampaio-Dias Portrait

Dr Susana Sampaio-Dias

Senior Lecturer

susana.sampaio-dias@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Lexie Scherer

Senior Lecturer

alexandra.scherer@port.ac.uk

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Nora Siklodi

Senior Lecturer

nora.siklodi@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Annabel Claire Tremlett Portrait

Dr Annabel Tremlett

Senior Lecturer

Annabel.Tremlett@port.ac.uk

School of Health and Care Professions

Faculty of Science and Health

PhD Supervisor

Read more