Addressing real-world problems with computational intelligence

We're researching the analysis, design and applications of computational intelligence methodologies.

 

Our research activities cover a broad range of topics such as data mining, neural networks, fuzzy systems, evolutionary optimisation, machine learning, pattern recognition, user-adaptive systems, computer graphics, computer vision and bioinformatics, all collectively brought under a common denominator which encompasses intelligent, nature and biology inspired methods and approaches in investigating, modelling and simulating complex systems that enhance learnability, adaptability and autonomicity.

Research aims

  • To perform internationally recognised and world-class research in the analysis, design and application of CI methodologies
  • To seek excellence in teaching subjects from CI fields
  • To transfer our knowledge and expertise to the industry and attract funding through research projects

Our members

Mohamed Bader-El-Den Portrait

Dr Mohamed Bader-El-Den

Reader in Data Science and Machine Learning

Mohamed.Bader@port.ac.uk

School of Computing

Faculty of Technology

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Janka Chlebikova Portrait

Dr Janka Chlebikova

Associate Head (Partnerships)

Janka.Chlebikova@port.ac.uk

School of Computing

Faculty of Technology

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Mihaela Haig Portrait

Dr Ella Haig

Reader in Artificial Intelligence

ella.haig@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Alexander Emilov Gegov Portrait

Dr Alexander Gegov

Reader in Computational Intelligence

Alexander.Gegov@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Honghai Liu Portrait

Professor Honghai Liu

Professor of Human Machine Systems

Honghai.Liu@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Ivan Nikolov Jordanov Portrait

Dr Ivan Jordanov

Reader in Computational Intelligence

Ivan.Jordanov@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Zhaojie Ju Portrait

Professor Zhaojie Ju

Professor of Machine Learning and Robotics

Zhaojie.Ju@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Rinat Khusainov Portrait

Dr Rinat Khusainov

Associate Head (Research and Innovation)

Innovation and Impact Development Manager

Rinat.Khusainov@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Matthew James Poole Portrait

Dr Matthew Poole

Associate Head (Curriculum)

Matthew.Poole@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Jiacheng Tan

Senior Lecturer

Jiacheng.Tan@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Dalin Zhou

Senior Lecturer

Dalin.Zhou@port.ac.uk

School of Computing

Faculty of Technology

PhD Supervisor

Read more