The Sociology and Social Theory Research Group brings together researchers from the fields of sociology, social psychology, politics, history, linguistics, and cultural studies. It serves as a hub for interdisciplinary exchange on questions of theory and methodology in the study of contemporary society.

The specialist research interests of group members include:

  • Classical and contemporary social and cultural theory
  • Consumption and the environment
  • Culture, class, taste and aesthetics
  • Eating, food, and drink
  • Economic life, work, and employment
  • Education, knowledge, and social reproduction
  • Emotions, happiness and wellbeing
  • Gender, sexuality, and identity
  • Globalization, inequality and protest movements
  • Race, ethnicity, citizenship, and nationalism
  • Religion and secularisation

Projects

Research group lead

Image of Dr Alexis Artaud De La Ferriere

Dr Alexis Artaud De La Ferriere

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address Alexis.Artaud-de-la-Ferriere@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor

Members

Image of Dr George Ackers

Dr George Ackers

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer - Sociology
  • Email Address George.Ackers@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Mr Mahmood Asgari

Mr Mahmood Asgari

  • Job Title Teaching Fellow
  • Email Address mahmood.asgari@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Anna Bull

Dr Anna Bull

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address anna.bull@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Joseph Burridge

Dr Joseph Burridge

  • Job Title Principal Lecturer in Sociology and Director of Undergraduate
  • Email Address Joseph.Burridge@port.ac.uk
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Nikki Fairchild

Dr Nikki Fairchild

  • Job Title Associate Head (Research) and Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address Nikki.Fairchild@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Ms Laura Hyman

Ms Laura Hyman

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address Laura.Hyman@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

Dr Naheem Jabbar

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address naheem.jabbar@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Professor Lisa Jack

Media ready expert

Professor Lisa Jack

  • Job Title Professor
  • Email Address Lisa.Jack@port.ac.uk
  • Department Accounting and Financial Management
  • Faculty Faculty of Business and Law
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

Dr Charles Leddy-Owen

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address charles.leddy-owen@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Kieren McEwan

Dr Kieren McEwan

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address ecs40505@myport.ac.uk
  • Department School of Sport Health and Exercise Science
  • Faculty Faculty of Science and Health
user profile icon

Dr Rusten Menard

  • Job Title Lecturer in Social Psychology
  • Email Address rusten.menard@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Valentina Migliarini

Media ready expert

Dr Valentina Migliarini

  • Job Title Lecturer
  • Email Address Valentina.Migliarini@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Charlotte Morris

Dr Charlotte Morris

  • Job Title Lecturer
  • Email Address Charlotte.Morris@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Jacqueline Priego Hernandez

Dr Jacqueline Priego Hernandez

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Social Psychology
  • Email Address jacqueline.priego@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Akiko Sakamoto

Dr Akiko Sakamoto

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Japanese Language and Translation
  • Email Address Akiko.Sakamoto@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Francesca Salvi

Dr Francesca Salvi

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Childhood Studies
  • Email Address Francesca.Salvi@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

  • Job Title Senior Research Associate
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Dr Lexie Scherer

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Childhood Studies
  • Email Address alexandra.scherer@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Dr Nora Siklodi

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Politics
  • Email Address nora.siklodi@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Bethany Simmonds

Dr Bethany Simmonds

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Sociology
  • Email Address bethany.simmonds@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Wendy Sims-Schouten

Dr Wendy Sims-Schouten

  • Job Title Reader in Childhood Studies and Director of Postgraduate
  • Email Address Wendy.Sims-Schouten@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Professor Barry Smart

Professor Barry Smart

  • Job Title Professor of Sociology
  • Email Address Barry.Smart@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Simon Stewart

Dr Simon Stewart

  • Job Title Reader In Sociology and Director of the Centre for European and International Studies Research
  • Email Address Simon.Stewart@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

Dr Germaine Stockbridge

  • Job Title Lecturer in Social Psychology
  • Email Address Germaine.Stockbridge@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Thomas Webb

Media ready expert

Dr Thomas Webb

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address thomas.webb@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Sport Health and Exercise Science
  • Faculty Faculty of Science and Health
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor

This site uses cookies. Click here to view our cookie policy message.

Accept and close