The Sociology and Social Theory Research Group brings together researchers from the fields of sociology, social psychology, politics, history, linguistics, and cultural studies. It serves as a hub for interdisciplinary exchange on questions of theory and methodology in the study of contemporary society.

The specialist research interests of group members include:

  • Classical and contemporary social and cultural theory
  • Consumption and the environment
  • Culture, class, taste and aesthetics
  • Eating, food, and drink
  • Economic life, work, and employment
  • Education, knowledge, and social reproduction
  • Emotions, happiness and wellbeing
  • Gender, sexuality, and identity
  • Globalization, inequality and protest movements
  • Race, ethnicity, citizenship, and nationalism
  • Religion and secularisation

Projects

Research group lead

Members

George Karl Ackers Portrait

Dr George Ackers

Senior Lecturer

George.Ackers@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Mahmood Asgari Portrait

Mr Mahmood Asgari

Teaching Fellow

mahmood.asgari@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Read more
Joseph David Burridge Portrait

Dr Joseph Burridge

Principal Lecturer

Joseph.Burridge@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Nicola Fairchild Portrait

Dr Nikki Fairchild

Associate Head (Research)

Nikki.Fairchild@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Anita Marie Franklin Portrait

Professor Anita Franklin

Professor of Childhood Studies

Anita.Franklin@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Laura Hyman Portrait

Ms Laura Hyman

Senior Lecturer

Laura.Hyman@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Naheem Jabbar

Senior Lecturer

naheem.jabbar@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Lisa Janet Jack Portrait

Professor Lisa Jack

Professor of Accounting

Lisa.Jack@port.ac.uk

Portsmouth Business School

Faculty of Business and Law

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Charles Leddy-Owen

Senior Lecturer

charles.leddy-owen@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Kieren McEwan Portrait

Dr Kieren McEwan

Senior Lecturer

Kieren.McEwan@port.ac.uk

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Rusten Menard

Senior Lecturer

rusten.menard@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Charlotte Ann Morris Portrait

Dr Charlotte Morris

Senior Lecturer

Charlotte.Morris@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Jacqueline Priego Hernandez Portrait

Dr Jacqueline Priego Hernandez

Interim Associate Dean (Global Engagement)

jacqueline.priego@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Thomas George Rodgers Portrait

Dr Thomas Rodgers

Senior Lecturer

thomas.rodgers@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, History, Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Francesca Salvi Portrait

Dr Francesca Salvi

Senior Lecturer

Francesca.Salvi@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Lexie Scherer

Senior Lecturer

alexandra.scherer@port.ac.uk

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Nora Siklodi

Senior Lecturer

nora.siklodi@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Barry Edward Smart Portrait

Professor Barry Smart

Professor of Sociology

Barry.Smart@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Simon Alexander Stewart Portrait

Dr Simon Stewart

Reader in Sociology

Simon.Stewart@port.ac.uk

School of Education and Sociology

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Germaine Stockbridge

Senior Lecturer

Germaine.Stockbridge@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Annabel Claire Tremlett Portrait

Dr Annabel Tremlett

Senior Lecturer

Annabel.Tremlett@port.ac.uk

School of Health and Care Professions

Faculty of Science and Health

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Thomas Webb Portrait

Dr Thomas Webb

Thomas.Webb@port.ac.uk

Faculty of Science and Health

PhD Supervisor

Read more