The Portsmouth-Brawijaya Centre for Global Health, Population, and Policy (PB Centre) is a collaboration between the University of Portsmouth and the University of Brawijaya in Malang, Indonesia. The key mission of the PB Centre is to improve the health and well-being of people globally through research, teaching and training.

Established in 2015 with the assistance of an Institutional Link grant from the British Council’s Newton Fund, we conduct world-class, evidence-based and policy-led research, on both basic and applied bio-social determinants of health.

We also teach advanced research methods – to enable future scientists to undertake more complex data analysis challenges – and provide postgraduate training and continuing professional development programmes to enable practising researchers to update their knowledge of population health.

Researchers from the University of Portsmouth include:

Saseendran Pallikadavath Portrait

Professor Sasee Pallikadavath

Professor of Demography and Global Health

Sasee.Pallikadavath@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Tamsin Jane Bradley Portrait

Media ready expert

Professor Tamsin Bradley

Professor of International Development Studies

Tamsin.Bradley@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
James Francis Brown Portrait

Dr James Brown

Associate Head (Global Engagement and Education Partnerships)

James.Brown@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Julia Catherine Brown Portrait

Dr Julia Brown

Associate Head (Global Engagement and Education Partnerships)

Julia.Brown@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Lana Clara Chikhungu Portrait

Dr Lana Chikhungu

Senior Lecturer

Lana.Chikhungu@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, History, Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Amy Kim Drahota-Towns Portrait

Dr Amy Drahota-Towns

Reader in Health and Social Care Evidence Evaluation

Amy.Drahota@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Suzannah Katherine Helps Portrait

Dr Suzannah Helps

Suzannah.Helps@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Sherria Linda Hoskins Portrait

Professor Sherria Hoskins

Executive Dean

Sherria.Hoskins@port.ac.uk

Read more
Dylan Francis Jones Portrait

Professor Dylan Jones

Professor of Operational Research

Dylan.Jones@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Ngianga Ii Kandala Portrait

Dr Ngianga Ii Kandala

Senior Lecturer

Ngianga.Kandala@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Isobel Helen Ryder Portrait

Dr Isobel Ryder

Associate Head (Programmes)

Isobel.Ryder@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Rebecca Jane Stores Portrait

Dr Rebecca Stores

Senior Lecturer

Rebecca.Stores@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Annabel Claire Tremlett Portrait

Dr Annabel Tremlett

Senior Lecturer

Annabel.Tremlett@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Joy Watts Portrait

Professor Joy Watts

Associate Dean (Research and Innovation)

Joy.Watts@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Malcolm Christopher Zordan Whitworth Portrait

Dr Malcolm Whitworth

Reader in Engineering Geomorphology and Natural Hazards

Malcolm.Whitworth@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more

Our partners

The PB Centre aims to generate maximum impact for its research findings on policy and programming at national, regional and local government levels. We work with:

  • The academic community
  • Federal governments
  • The third sector
  • International agencies
  • Inter-governmental organisations
  • International organisations such as the United Nations Population Fund

Research

The PB Centre has a unique team of interdisciplinary researchers, drawn from various faculties within both Universities.

Our geographic expertise covers most of the world’s low and middle income countries and our researchers have academic backgrounds in fields such as anthropology, public health, applied mathematics and human psychology.

Research areas of expertise include gender relations, family planning, food security, HIV transmission and domestic violence – and the range of methodological expertise within the centre includes impact evaluation, advanced statistical modelling and ethnographic methods.

Current and recent projects

The centre also recently completed a research project for the British Academy on the impact of low fertility on the health and well-being of women in developing countries, and concluded an Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) seminar series on low fertility in developing countries, in collaboration with the University of Oxford and the Centre for Development Studies, Trivandrum.

Explore more of our research

Health and Social Care

Our research deals with the most-pressing health and wellbeing issues facing society – from the challenges of caring for an ageing population, to the importance of delivering effective health and social care to the most under-represented, vulnerable or isolated groups in society.
Nursing student writing down medical record
Read more

Health informatics

We're improving the design of computer systems and wellbeing services to make the delivery of healthcare more efficient and cost-effective, and we're exploring how technology can influence lifestyle choices and reduce health risks.
Read more

Pharmacy, Pharmacology and Biomedical Sciences

We're growing our understanding of how the body functions in health, how it malfunctions in disease, and the genetic and molecular drivers of physical and mental illnesses to find new, more effective treatments for patients.
Male student studying in a lab at a microscope
Read more