This History research group includes diverse scholars working on aspects of social and cultural history in America, Asia, Britain and Europe. 

Key areas addressed in strategic projects are the importance of ports as sites of unique socio-cultural exchange (Port Towns and Urban Cultures), the representation of the supernatural in urban environments (Supernatural Cities), and, in collaboration with the Centre for Studies in Literature, challenges to structures of authority in early modern society (Disrupted Authority). Another major research project evaluates railway worker accidents in Britain and Ireland (Railway Work, Life and Death). 

Other areas of focus in the research group include student activism and civil rights, gender history, and revolutionary political cultures. The group has strong links with external partners, including the D-Day Story, Mary Rose Museum, National Railway Museum, and Portsmouth Royal Dockyard Historical Trust, and collaborates with them to exchange knowledge. We hold regular research seminars and events to showcase our research as well as the work of invited speakers.

Research supervision is available in all these fields. 

Visit the University of Portsmouth History blog: history.port.ac.uk

Research group leads

User profile default icon

Dr Maria Cannon

Senior Lecturer

maria.cannon@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, History, Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Robert Terence James Portrait

Dr Robert James

Senior Lecturer

Robert.James@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more

Members

David Robert Andress Portrait

Professor David Andress

Professor of Modern History

David.Andress@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Melanie Marie Bassett Portrait

Dr Melanie Bassett

Research Fellow in Public Engagement

melanie.bassett@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Bradley Beaven Portrait

Professor Brad Beaven

Professor of Social and Cultural History

Bradley.Beaven@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Karl Bell Portrait

Dr Karl Bell

Reader in Cultural and Social History

Karl.Bell@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Jodi Jeannette Burkett Portrait

Dr Jodi Burkett

Senior Lecturer

Jodi.Burkett@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Anthony Douglas Chafer Portrait

Professor Tony Chafer

Professor of African and French Studies

Tony.Chafer@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Mike Owen Esbester Portrait

Dr Mike Esbester

Senior Lecturer

Mike.Esbester@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Paul Stephen Flenley Portrait

Dr Paul Flenley

Senior Lecturer

Paul.Flenley@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Catherine Mary Gibbons Portrait

Dr Katy Gibbons

Senior Lecturer

Katy.Gibbons@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Emily Claire Walsh Portrait

Media ready expert

Dr Matthew Heaslip

Lecturer

matthew.heaslip@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Marius Stuart Kwint Portrait

Dr Marius Kwint

Reader in Visual Culture

Marius.Kwint@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Fiona McCall

Senior Lecturer

fiona.mccall@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Mr Rudolph Ng

Lecturer

Rudolph.Ng@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Cathryn Jean Pearce Portrait

Media ready expert

Dr Cathryn Pearce

Senior Lecturer

cathryn.pearce@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Thomas George Rodgers Portrait

Dr Thomas Rodgers

Senior Lecturer

thomas.rodgers@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Lee Sartain Portrait

Dr Lee Sartain

Senior Lecturer

Lee.Sartain@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Mathias Seiter Portrait

Dr Mathias Seiter

Principal Lecturer

Mathias.Seiter@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more

Visiting professor

  • Quintin Colville

PhD candidates

  • David Bangert
  • John Bolt
  • William Brooks
  • Fabienne Chamelot
  • Jaber Ferhat
  • Jayne Friend
  • Michael Hayes
  • Elina Hermane
  • Carlus Hudson
  • Jack Hunter
  • Megan Ison
  • Ida Jørgenson
  • Ivana Lam
  • Adrian Parry
  • Rhys Phillips
  • William Sutton
  • Behice Tezçakar
  • Daisy Turnbull
  • Jenna Twyford-Jones