The structuralist legacy is a general acceptance of language as a bounded system that can be defined and learnt. Our research group is interested in studying what happens as speakers and writers cross the boundaries of language systems or transgress the rules within them, and what insights can be gained when linguists explore the contributions made by fields as diverse as semiotics, social theory, political theory, literary theory, psychology and neuroscience. We are, in short, interested in the breaking of barriers and the building of bridges. We see language as practice embedded in and shaped by socio-cultural factors.

Our focus is varied. We investigate language choices of bilingual families in diaspora, attitudes towards the spread of English as a lingua franca in globalisation, language and the internationalisation of HE, translation as creation, as gate-keeping and as bridge-building, language as ideology, language and the unconscious, language and the brain, languages and technologies, language policy and language rights in new political settings. In all our enquiries we are concerned to investigate language practices within their social and political contexts and to monitor and comment on change in an increasingly post-structuralist and post-national era.

Language Across Borders also encompasses research in corpus linguistics.

Teaching and research

Corpus linguistic methodologies are integrated in undergraduate and postgraduate courses in lexicology, discourse analysis and linguistic workshops. We supervise postgraduate linguistic dissertations, at both MA and PhD level.

Our research interests cover a wide area of corpus linguistic work, and provide for doctoral supervision in a range of specialisms. Glenn Hadikin’s research is about phraseology and Lexical Priming in New Englishes/learner language and John Williams has extensive experience of using corpora in lexicography. Other members of staff have been involved in designing corpus interrogation software and building corpora. We have also been involved in knowledge transfer activities, such as the 'Using Corpora in Translation' webinar for eCPD

Research group lead

Glenn Stewart Hadikin Portrait

Dr Glenn Hadikin

Senior Lecturer

Glenn.Hadikin@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more

Members

Mahmood Asgari Portrait

Mr Mahmood Asgari

Teaching Fellow

mahmood.asgari@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Read more
Nicholas Lawrence Andrew Bertenshaw Portrait

Dr Nick Bertenshaw

Senior Lecturer

Nick.Bertenshaw@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Read more
James Francis Bullock Portrait

Mr James Bullock

Senior Lecturer

James.Bullock@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Read more
Stephen James Crabbe Portrait

Dr Stephen Crabbe

Senior Lecturer

Stephen.Crabbe@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Angela Maria Crack Portrait

Dr Angela Crack

Interim Associate Dean (Research)

Reader in Civil Society

Angela.Crack@port.ac.uk

School of Area Studies, History, Politics and Literature

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Alessandra Fasulo Portrait

Dr Alessandra Fasulo

Senior Lecturer

Faculty Research Degrees Coordinator

Alessandra.Fasulo@port.ac.uk

Department of Psychology

Faculty of Science and Health

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Mr William Forsyth

Senior Lecturer

William.Forsyth@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Read more
User profile default icon

Miss Rebecca Hamlet

Teaching Fellow

Rebecca.Hamlet@port.ac.uk

Read more
Marjorie Huet-Martin Portrait

Mrs Marjorie Huet-Martin

Associate Head (Global Engagement)

Marjorie.Huet@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Read more
Ian Paul Johnson Portrait

Mr Ian Johnson

Learning Support Tutor

Ian.Johnson@port.ac.uk

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Marie McCullagh

Senior Lecturer

Marie.McCullagh@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Rusten Menard

Senior Lecturer

rusten.menard@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Iris Eleftheria Nomikou Portrait

Dr Iris Nomikou

Senior Lecturer

iris.nomikou@port.ac.uk

Department of Psychology

Faculty of Science and Health

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Lee John Oakley Portrait

Dr Lee Oakley

Senior Lecturer

lee.oakley@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Mrs Carmen Pasamar Marquez

Associate Head (Academic)

Carmen.Pasamar@port.ac.uk

Read more
Helen Lois Ringrow Portrait

Dr Helen Ringrow

Associate Head (Research and Innovation)

helen.ringrow@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Begona Rodriguez De Cespedes Portrait

Dr Begona Rodriguez De Cespedes

Senior Lecturer

Begona.Rodriguez@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Mario Saraceni Portrait

Dr Mario Saraceni

Reader in English Language and Linguistics

Mario.Saraceni@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Germaine Stockbridge

Senior Lecturer

Germaine.Stockbridge@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Alessia Tranchese Portrait

Media ready expert

Dr Alessia Tranchese

Senior Lecturer

alessia.tranchese@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Dr Youxuan Wang

Lecturer

Youxuan.Wang@port.ac.uk

Read more
Peter Aaron Watkins Portrait

Dr Peter Watkins

Principal Lecturer

Peter.Watkins@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more
Nicholas Mark White Portrait

Mr Nick White

Teaching Fellow

nicholas.white@port.ac.uk

Read more
John Williams Portrait

Mr John Williams

Senior Lecturer

John.X.Williams@port.ac.uk

PhD Supervisor

Read more
User profile default icon

Ms Yuan Yang

Senior Teaching Fellow

yuan.yang@port.ac.uk

School of Creative Technologies

Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries

Read more
Lin Zheng Portrait

Dr Lin Zheng

Senior Lecturer

Lin.Zheng@port.ac.uk

School of Languages and Applied Linguistics

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD Supervisor

Read more

PhD candidates

  • Alessandra Belletti
  • Rob Sharples
  • Abdoul Dieng
  • Shelton Humpleby
  • Lucia Iorgal
  • Nina Remmelgas
  • Safia Serai
  • Manita Srisawat
  • Claudia Viggiano