The structuralist legacy is a general acceptance of language as a bounded system that can be defined and learnt. Our research group is interested in studying what happens as speakers and writers cross the boundaries of language systems or transgress the rules within them, and what insights can be gained when linguists explore the contributions made by fields as diverse as semiotics, social theory, political theory, literary theory, psychology and neuroscience. We are, in short, interested in the breaking of barriers and the building of bridges. We see language as practice embedded in and shaped by socio-cultural factors.

Our focus is varied. We investigate language choices of bilingual families in diaspora, attitudes towards the spread of English as a lingua franca in globalisation, language and the internationalisation of HE, translation as creation, as gate-keeping and as bridge-building, language as ideology, language and the unconscious, language and the brain, languages and technologies, language policy and language rights in new political settings. In all our enquiries we are concerned to investigate language practices within their social and political contexts and to monitor and comment on change in an increasingly post-structuralist and post-national era.

Language Across Borders also encompasses research in corpus linguistics.

Teaching and research

Corpus linguistic methodologies are integrated in undergraduate and postgraduate courses in lexicology, discourse analysis and linguistic workshops. We supervise postgraduate linguistic dissertations, at both MA and PhD level.

Our research interests cover a wide area of corpus linguistic work, and provide for doctoral supervision in a range of specialisms. Glenn Hadikin’s research is about phraseology and Lexical Priming in New Englishes/learner language and John Williams has extensive experience of using corpora in lexicography. Other members of staff have been involved in designing corpus interrogation software and building corpora. We have also been involved in knowledge transfer activities, such as the 'Using Corpora in Translation' webinar for eCPD

Research group lead

Image of Dr Glenn Hadikin

Dr Glenn Hadikin

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer, English Language and Linguistics
  • Email Address Glenn.Hadikin@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor

Members

Image of Mr Mahmood Asgari

Mr Mahmood Asgari

  • Job Title Teaching Fellow
  • Email Address mahmood.asgari@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Nick Bertenshaw

Dr Nick Bertenshaw

  • Job Title Senior lecturer in English language and linguistics
  • Email Address Nick.Bertenshaw@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Mr James Bullock

Mr James Bullock

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address james.bullock@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Dr Stephen Crabbe

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and Translation (Japanese to English)
  • Email Address las71489@myport.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Angela Crack

Dr Angela Crack

  • Job Title Reader in Civil Society and Research Degree Coordinator
  • Email Address Angela.Crack@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Area Studies History Politics and Literature
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Alessandra Fasulo

Dr Alessandra Fasulo

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address Alessandra.Fasulo@port.ac.uk
  • Department Department of Psychology
  • Faculty Faculty of Science and Health
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

Mr William Forsyth

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address William.Forsyth@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Miss Rebecca Hamlet

  • Job Title Teaching Fellow
  • Email Address Rebecca.Hamlet@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Mr Richard Hitchcock

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address Richard.Hitchcock@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Mrs Marjorie Huet-Martin

Mrs Marjorie Huet-Martin

  • Job Title Senior Teaching Fellow
  • Email Address marjorie.huet-martin@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Mr Ian Johnson

Mr Ian Johnson

  • Job Title Learning Support Tutor
  • Email Address Ian.Johnson@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Dr Marie McCullagh

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer Professional Communication and Applied Linguistics
  • Email Address marie.mccullagh@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

Dr Rusten Menard

  • Job Title Lecturer in Social Psychology
  • Email Address rusten.menard@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Valentina Migliarini

Media ready expert

Dr Valentina Migliarini

  • Job Title Lecturer
  • Email Address Valentina.Migliarini@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Iris Nomikou

Dr Iris Nomikou

  • Job Title Associate Head (Innovation)
  • Email Address iris.nomikou@port.ac.uk
  • Department Department of Psychology
  • Faculty Faculty of Science and Health
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Lee Oakley

Dr Lee Oakley

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address lee.oakley@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

Mrs Carmen Pasamar Marquez

  • Job Title Interim Head of School and Associate Head (Academic)
  • Email Address Carmen.Pasamar@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Helen Ringrow

Dr Helen Ringrow

  • Job Title Associate Head (Research and Innovation)
  • Email Address helen.ringrow@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Begona Rodriguez De Cespedes

Dr Begona Rodriguez De Cespedes

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Translation
  • Email Address Begona.Rodriguez@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Akiko Sakamoto

Dr Akiko Sakamoto

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Japanese Language and Translation
  • Email Address Akiko.Sakamoto@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Mario Saraceni

Dr Mario Saraceni

  • Job Title Reader, English and Linguistics; Associate Head (Research)
  • Email Address Mario.Saraceni@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Wendy Sims-Schouten

Dr Wendy Sims-Schouten

  • Job Title Reader in Childhood Studies and Director of Postgraduate
  • Email Address Wendy.Sims-Schouten@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Miss Jennifer Sizer

Miss Jennifer Sizer

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address Jennifer.Sizer@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Dr Germaine Stockbridge

  • Job Title Lecturer in Social Psychology
  • Email Address Germaine.Stockbridge@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Education and Sociology
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Dr Alessia Tranchese

Media ready expert

Dr Alessia Tranchese

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer in Communication and Applied Linguistics
  • Email Address alessia.tranchese@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
user profile icon

Dr Youxuan Wang

  • Job Title Lecturer
  • Email Address Youxuan.Wang@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Dr Peter Watkins

Dr Peter Watkins

  • Job Title Principal Lecturer
  • Email Address peter.watkins@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • PhD Supervisor PhD Supervisor
Image of Mr Nicholas Mark White

Mr Nicholas Mark White

  • Job Title Teaching Fellow
  • Email Address nicholas.white@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Image of Mr John Williams

Media ready expert

Mr John Williams

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address John.X.Williams@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
user profile icon

Ms Yuan Yang

  • Job Title Teaching Fellow
  • Email Address yuan.yang@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Creative Technologies
  • Faculty Faculty of Creative and Cultural Industries
Image of Dr Lin Zheng

Dr Lin Zheng

  • Job Title Senior Lecturer
  • Email Address Lin.Zheng@port.ac.uk
  • Department School of Languages and Applied Linguistics
  • Faculty Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

PhD candidates

  • Alessandra Belletti
  • Rob Sharples
  • Abdoul Dieng
  • Shelton Humpleby
  • Lucia Iorgal
  • Nina Remmelgas
  • Safia Serai
  • Manita Srisawat
  • Claudia Viggiano

This site uses cookies. Click here to view our cookie policy message.

Accept and close